This Week in Words…

Hey Gang –

What a week this has been! I am sure many of you are saying “where have you been, today is friday why haven’t you posted before now?” Hold on there, strange imaginary critic. This week has been CRAZY. I had planned on doing HuffPost and writing/promotion stuff on Tuesday (mondays are a wash – I have an 18 hour work shift on mondays) but spent the whole day working on my wifes immigration stuff. I am talking about printing every amtrak receipt of every visit she or I did, printing over 300 photos, assembling every bit of paperwork with both our names on it, gathering all our passports and birth certificates etc – basically collecting every bit of ‘evidence’ to ‘prove’ my relationship ‘valid’ that I could find. It was an All Day Event and in the end it resulted in a bag we are calling the ‘portfolio of love’

And then the next day we took the portfolio down to the immigration office, walked in the door and had a five minute meeting where they did NOT EVEN LOOK at the Portfolio of Love. Oh, and The Wifeness will get her greencard in two weeks!!!!

Now it is 48 hours later and our entire household has a cold and I don’t think we have been operational since the meeting. This is the 19 month olds first time being sick, so…a milestone? He seems a bit – though still snotty – improved today. Erin and I not so much.

As a result the ball got dropped on a few things. I interviewed Jason Gurley for Huffington Post and you will notice it has not yet been posted here. Some typos got through and that is my fault; I was rushed, I was trying to cram things in during my spare time –  and then HuffPo dropped some links, some my formatting (the ‘Intro, Query, Post-Script’ format that I am fond of, damn it. I spent days coming up with that format). In the end, though, I should have organized my time more to put out quality work. Personally I am a dyslexic ADHDer who forgets to spellcheck and sometimes has trouble reading screens. Professionally I have ‘people’ to help me with some of that. 

A big THANK YOU to Jason Gurleys patience. I have finally tired of waiting for HuffPo to fix things and have re-submitted and will let you good folks know when that is up. 

IN OTHER NEWS.

The Life and Remembrances of Martha Toole has received THREE 5-STAR REVIEWS. I promised some time ago to sing the praises of folks who left reviews on Amazon and to put those songs online. Well, looks like I have a weekend project!!!!

Check out the reviews:

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
 
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story March 11, 2014
I received a copy to read and give a review. I’m very impressed. I couldn’t put it down. Love Jason’s writing style. I found myself involved in the family story. It’s an enjoyable read. I would recommend it to others.
Comment | 

 
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful piece March 13, 2014
By Elaine
In this short work, the author has created an intimate characterization of ordinarily extra-ordinary people. The movement of the prose flows effortlessly between concrete events and fantasy. A very enjoyable read! Keep up the good work!
Comment | 

 
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Story March 8, 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase
From the beginning of this novella until the last page, I found myself drawn into the story of Martha Toole. I don’t want to give away any part of this amazing piece of fiction, so I will instead describe the style of this author. The writing is both quiet and powerful. Jason Derr accomplished what I think is quite difficult, he wrote with restraint. In terms of genre, I would say it is a mix of Literary Fiction and Magical Realism.

One of my favorite quotes, “She is only an old woman and her outrage is a form of grief for a world that has died and become something her generation only began to imagine.”

 
In addition: A great review came in from the great ‘A Creative Mind’ blog 

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

The Life and Remembrances of Martha Toole

20941286

Novella

The Hammer family of Hammer Fields, Virginia, do not know what to expect when elderly matriarch Martha Toole comes for a visit. Only the eldest son, John David Hammer, a painter and lover of family history, seems to enjoy her presence. The family is thrown into deeper distress when, during a visit to the old homeplace, John David and Martha Toole are followed home by the ghost of Martha Toole’s youth.

 

 

 

It’s a great read.  Jason has a great writing style.  I found myself drawn into the family story. People who read it may think about their own families as they go along with this one.  Don’t want to give anything away but there are some great lines in the book. Too many great ones to pick a favorite. I would highly recommend it. I look forward to reading more of Jason’s books. 

 

Author Bio

I like to make things up, sometimes big things, sometimes small things. Always fun things and always stories. On rainy days I like to drink coffee, listen to jazz and imagine wonderful, dark and beautiful things. I like short stories and long stories. I like fantasy and science-fiction but not in the way you might think. I like horror stories, but not monsters and ghosts and people meeting grisly ends. I like the horror of the every day, the tragic that happens in an average day and the wonderful fantastic people who bravely confront that horror and make the world a better place. I think firemen and soldiers are heroes but I also think fathers, clergymen and women, mothers, grandmothers, peace makers and social workers are heroes. I studied Creative Writing at Eastern Washington University and I am happy for every moment of it.

Check out his site here.

Purchase and Social Media Links

Amazon 

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

